The Ordinary: Lactic Acid 5% + HA 2%

**If you have read my other The Ordinary reviews, you can skip to the claims & results section**

DECIEM: The Abnormal Beauty Company. If their name doesn’t ring a bell, you will probably be rushing to buy their products by the end of this review. The company produces hi-tech skincare products, so do not expect natural or organic mentioned anywhere.  This is THE BREAKTHROUGH skincare company of the year and this newly launched line, The Ordinary, is no exception.

Tagged as “an evolving collection of treatments offering familiar, effective clinical technologies positioned to raise pricing and communication integrity in skincare”, this line is for those consumers who know what they are looking for in their skincare and are not afraid to experiment. What is shocking and the ‘breackthrough’ is the price of each of the products, which ranges from $4.90 to $14.80.

The line originally launched with 10 products: 100% Organic Cold-Pressed Rose Hip Seed Oil, Vitamin C Suspension 23% + HA Spheres, Hyaluronic Acid 2% + B5, Matrixyl 10% + HA, Alpha Arbutin 2% + HA, Lactic Acid 5% + HA 2%, Lactic Acid 10% + HA 2%, Advanced Retinoid 2%, Niacinamide 10% + Zinc 1% and ‘Buffet’. But if you check on their website, there are more goodies to come!

I am just as excited to review these products as when I ordered them. At the time, I ordered 4 products: Alpha Arbutin 2% + HA, Lactic Acid 5% + HA 2%, Advanced Retinoid 2% and Niacinamide 10% + Zinc 1%. I have been thoroughly testing all except for the Retinol, which I am going to write a separate review for later on. As always, this company is very transparent with their science and ingredients, which makes a pleasure to review. I recommend you peruse their site.

INGREDIENTS:

Alpha Arbutin 2% + HA — Aqua (Water), Alpha-Arbutin, Polyacrylate Crosspolymer-6, Hydrolyzed Sodium Hyaluronate, Propanediol, PPG-26-Buteth-26, PEG-40 Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Lactic Acid, Trisodium Ethylenediamine Disuccinate, Ethoxydiglycol, Phenoxyethanol, Chlorphenesin.

Lactic Acid 5% + HA 2% — Aqua (Water), Lactic Acid, Glycerin, Pentylene Glycol, Triethanolamine, Sodium Hyaluronate Crosspolymer, Tasmannia Lanceolata Fruit/Leaf Extract, Arginine, Potassium Citrate, Acacia Senegal Gum, Xanthan Gum, Trisodium Ethylenediamine Disuccinate, PPG-26-Buteth-26, Ethyl 2,2-Dimethylhydrocinnamal, PEG-40 Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Ethylhexylglycerin, 1,2-Hexanediol, Caprylyl Glycol.

Niacinamide 10% + Zinc 1% — Aqua (Water), Niacinamide, Zinc PCA, Tamarindus Indica Seed Gum, Pentylene Glycol, Carrageenan, Acacia Senegal Gum, Xanthan Gum, PPG-26-Buteth-26, PEG-40 Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Ethoxydiglycol, Phenoxyethanol, Chlorphenesin.

As you can see, these formulas are quite short, although they contain very interesting combinations. In particular, the 5% Lactic Acid formula contains other ingredients which will counteract the potential irritation of the acid.

CLAIMS & RESULTS

Lactic Acid 5% + HA 2% ($6.50) — I love this (period) Look at that price for a well formulated, proper pH, stable formula. Gasp! Run and get this as your skin will thank you. I am quite sensitive to acids and my skin works better with Salicylic Acid, but this ladies and gents is a beauty. I opted for the 5% formula, but more seasoned, less reactive skins should definitely try the 10% formula as well.

This serum claims to offer very mild exfoliation and is supported with a purified Tasmanian pepperberry known to reduce signs of inflammation and sensitivity that is often associated with exfoliation. Lactic Acid is an Alpha Hydroxy Acid (AHA), meaning it is a chemical exfoliant. The main benefit of an AHA is its ability to exfoliate the skin. They essentially remove the “glue” from the upper layer of skin that holds onto the old, dead skin cells. By effectively removing that top layer of skin, the alpha hydroxy acids serve to help new skin grow. Alpha hydroxy acids reduce the look of wrinkles, help to reduce the likelihood that winkles will develop, make skin smoother and (with months of daily use) can help skin that’s uneven and hyper pigmented become smoother and more even.

I tend to agree with the claims of this serum, as I continue to see very mild exfoliation as a result of use in my nighttime routine. I also agree with the claim that the acid is formulated at a proper pH, as I do not see any undue signs of unwanted irritation or burning. This formula’s pH is approximately 3.8 which is ideal. However, the Deciem site also talks about pKa if you are interested in a more scientific description.

I have combined this serum with The Ordinary’s Alpha Arbutin and the Niacinamide serums without any problems, and even recommend it’s use in combination with other targeted treatments, as the exfoliation helps products penetrate more effectively into the skin since they don’t have to go through excessive layers of dead skin cells.

The serum is housed in a see through dropper bottle, so I keep mine stored in a dark space and inside the box. The texture of the serum is very runny unlike the Alpha Arbutin and is slightly cloudy with a peach-like hue. There is a characteristic smell, a sweet fruity/chemical scent, but it dissipates quickly even though there is no fragrance in the ingredients. (Correction: as a reader just pointed out, there is fragrance in this product which should be noted if you have sensitivity. I have found it very difficult to spot an exfoliating product without fragrance or alcohol for that matter, but I have no problem with the fragrance in this.) Finally, the serum absorbs quite quickly and can be used on all skin types. Please be aware use of chemical exfoliators causes your skin to be more sensitive to the sun and photoaging, so wear SPF.

I always prefer an opaque packaging with a pump to preserve freshness, however, given the price point, i’m not too worried. This is an excelled option for mild exfoliation or for those starting out with acids, as Lactic Acid is the most moisturizing of the acids. This is a product I wish had existed years ago, so I am ecstatic it is finally in the market at such a bargain price. I look forward to continued use and definitely give this stellar marks.

SHELF LIFE

12 months

WHERE TO PURCHASE

Deciem’s The Ordinary Site

If the curiosity bug has bit you, there is a product guide which explains how to use the products and how to combine them!

9 thoughts on “The Ordinary: Lactic Acid 5% + HA 2%

  1. Karolina Szerszen says:

    Hi, did you apply it like a normal serum? or do you wash it off later? I’m not familiar with these kinds of products, thank you x

    Like

    • skinfiction says:

      Hi Karolina, yes it is meant to be used just like a serum, you do not rinse it off. Plus it is not a very high strength so you should not feel much or any irritation when you apply it. Let me know how it works out for you if you try it!

      Liked by 1 person

    • skinfiction says:

      Hi Peter, thank you for pointing out the fragrance ingredient as I totally missed it. I have corrected the post accordingly! I am not typically a fan of fragrance in any of my products, but it’s really hard to find an exfoliant without fragrance or alcohol. This one doesn’t have alcohol thankfully, but I did not find the fragrance problematic. However, I wish this did not have fragrance either. The search continues!

      Like

  2. dubayan says:

    Hi! great review! I was hesitant to buy this until I hear some real reviews. I doubt it will work for me either and I love layering 🙂 . did you try Paula’s choice Niacinamide booster? I have tried a sample only and it was water like texture and absorbed well. you can order samples to try as it is almost 40$ I believe. xoxxx

    Like

    • skinfiction says:

      Hi, yes it will not work if you like to layer for sure. Nope I have not tried the PC niacinamide booster, its still on the wishlist. Once I finish with this one, I’ll pick that up as ingredient wise it looks fantastic👌I’ll let you know 😁

      Like

Leave a comment